News and Announcements

Post Author Picture

Spring Drop-in Field Hockey

Posted by Ali Baggott at Apr 17, 2012 8:50AM PDT ( 0 Comments )

Spring Drop-in Field Hockey

In continuation of the Winter Drop-in league, the time slots on thursday nights are still available and will continue to run an open drop-in co-ed game night.

When: Thursdays (8-9 pm)
What:* Co-ed 7-aside drop in (11-aside or 7-aside based on numbers)
Who: All are welcome (recommended +14 years of age)
Cost: $5/drop-in

If you need more information please contact Cara jay (

Otherwise, just show up!


VICTORIA, B.C. – At the annual Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey general meeting, on Apr. 16, the major award winners, division winners, playoff winners and all-star teams were announced. First division defender and member of the Rebels Patriots team, Heather Wheatley, was named the most outstanding player of the season. From the Cowichan Cardinals, Under-17 national team member Claire Seeliger was named the top junior player. First division captains and executive members Rebecca Courtemarche, of the Patriots and Ali Lee, of the Mariners, were named the Christine Trophy winners for all-around sportsmanship, ability and service to the league.

The Hibbert Trophy – Most Outstanding Player
Awarded to the most outstanding player in the association. Players in any division are eligible for this award. The Hibbert family, of Victoria, donated this trophy. Nita Hibbert played in the association and was the league’s social director.

2011-12 Winner: Heather Wheatley (Patriots)

The Foley Shield – Most Improved Umpire
Awarded to the most improved umpire in the association.

2011-12 Winner: Chris Davis

The Christine Trophy – Ability, Sportsmanship and Service
Awarded to a member of the association who best combines sportsmanship, ability and service to VILFHA. Joy Speight donated the trophy, which was named for after her daughter.

2011-12 Winners: Rebecca Courtemarche (Patriots) & Ali Lee (Mariners)

The Trelawney Shield – Most Outstanding Under 18 Player
Presented to a young player (18 and under) who best combines ability, leadership and sportsmanship. Ruth Trelawney, who was a member of VILFHA and the Canadian national team that competed in Jamaica in 1968, donated this shield.

2011-12 Winner: Claire Seeliger (Cowichan Cardinals)

These awards are given out annually to the most sportsmanship team in each division (1, 2 and 3). Each team votes for a team in their division they felt was the most sportsmanlike.

2011-12 Division 1 Winner: Patriots
2011-12 Division 2 Winner: Blue Jays
2011-12 Division 3 Winner: Lynx 3

These awards are given out annually to the player that is voted most outstanding within the division they are registered in. This player will impact the league through leadership, ability or service to their team.

2011-12 Division 1 MVP: Ali Lee (Mariners)
2011-12 Division 2 MVP: Sandy Grimwood (Blue Jays)
2011-12 Division 3 MVP: Erica Kjekstad (Pirates)

Division 1: Mariners
Division 2: Sailors
Division 3: Stellers

Division 1: Mariners
Division 2: Sailors
Division 3: Kestrels

These awards are given out annually to the players that are voted most outstanding within the division they are registered in.

Division 1
1. Heather Wheatley, Patriots
2. Cara Jay, Patriots
3. Jenny Swaile, Patriots
4. Ali Lee, Mariners
5. Perri Espeseth, Mariners
6. Kira Graham, Mariners
7. Annie Walters-Shumka, Lynx 1
8. Elspeth McGillivray, Lynx 1
9. Gillian Kirkpatrick, Lynx 1

Division 2
1. Kelsey Havens, Sailors
2. Alison Fraser, Cardinals
3. Alexis de Armond , Lynx 2
4. Ashley Milburn, Demons
5. Chelsea Cleemof, Swifts
6. Kate Egen, Blue Jays
7. Claire Seeliger, Cardinals
8. Sara Brant, Sailors
9. Kira Starr, Sailors
10. Kristina Walters-Shumka, Lynx 2
11. Sandy Grimwood, Blue Jays

Division 3
1. Theresa Kennedy, Devils
2. Sue Fraser, Stellers
3. Erica Kjekstad, Pirates
4. Dana Dickinson, Ravens
5. Michelle Legassicke, Renegades
6. Britt Ratzburg, Kestrels
7. Ana Adams, Lynx 3
8. Kristie Sykes, Stellers
9. Alice Lam, Devils
10. Lisa Grambart, Pirates
11. Lisa Blair, Ravens

Post Author Picture


Posted by Ali Baggott at Apr 14, 2012 10:23AM PDT ( 2 Comments )

A reminder that this season’s Spring AGM will be held at Hyacinth Park, April 16th at 7:00pm. Agenda is below.

1. Then minutes of the most recent General Meeting of the Association (Spring 2011 and Fall 2011)
2. The reports of the Executive
3. The financial statements
4. Announcement of Honourary members
5. Announcement of Awards
6.Discussion of membership fees for the ensuing year
7. Discussion of the format of the following season’s schedule
8. Proposed amendments, if any, to the Constitution, Bylaws, and Rules and Regulations
9. Election of the Executive

ALL MAJOR AWARD WINNERS should have been contacted by e-mail. We would like to encourage you to attend the AGM to receive your award!


Field Hockey Canada presents the USACANADA CHALLENGE

The Canadian Women’s Junior National Under-21 and Under-17 Teams will take on the USA National Under-19 and Under-17 Teams in an eight match test series beginning this week. This is an important tournament for the Junior National Team as they prepare for the upcoming Junior Pan American Championships in September.


Wednesday, April 4 (12:00pm & 2:00pm)
Thursday, April 5 (12:00pm & 2:00pm)
Saturday, April 7 (12:00pm & 2:00pm)
Sunday, April 8 (9:00am & 11:00am)

Rutledge Field
Marine Drive & 13th Drive
West Vancouver, BC

Jessica Barnett (North Vancouver, BC): Amanda Bird (North Vancouver, BC): Jessica Buttinger (Kitchener, ON): Rachel Donohoe (North Vancouver, BC): Shannon Elmitt (West Vancouver, BC): Bea Francisco (Richmond, BC): Hannah Haughn (North Vancouver, BC): Erin Houle (Burlington, ON): Karli Johansen (North Vancouver, BC): Caashia Karringten (Vancouver, BC): Anna Kozniuk (North Vancouver, BC): Kathleen Leahy (Victoria, BC): Lauren Logush (Richmond Hill, ON): Sara McManus (Tsawwassen, BC): Mary Nielsen (Cowichan, BC): Paige Norris (Victoria, BC): Emma Plasteras (North Vancouver, BC): Abigail Raye (Kelowna, BC): Poonam Sandhu (Vancouver, BC): Kim Scraper (West Vancouver, BC): Maddie Secco (Victoria, BC): Natalie Sourisseau (Kelowna, BC): Holly Stewart (North Vancouver, BC): Amanda Woodcroft (Waterloo, ON)

Danielle Aviani (Surrey, BC): Cassidy Bremner (Delta, BC): Emma Cochran (Surrey, BC): Ellie Cookson (Oakville, ON): Jenna Dhillon (Victoria, BC): Shannon Eby (Waterloo, ON): Leah Frome (West Vancouver, BC): Paige Hamilton (Coquitlam, BC): Krista Jensen (Delta, BC): Gillian Kirkpatrick (Victoria, BC): Ashley Kirsten (North Vancouver, BC): Stephanie Langkammer (Duncan, BC): Elspeth McGillivray (Victoria, BC): Samantha McILwrick (Coquitlam, BC): Cailean Meredith (Delta, BC): Stephanie Norlander (North Vancouver, BC): Taylor Pearson (North Vancouver, BC): Sophie Plasteras (North Vancouver, BC): Priya Randhawa (Surrey, BC): Claire Seeliger (Duncan, BC): Natalie Stewart (North Vancouver, BC): Sydney Veljacic (Coquitlam, BC): Sofia Walia (Surrey, BC): Kristina Walters-Shumka (Victoria, BC): Nikki Woodcroft (Waterloo, ON): Hailey Reeves (West Vancouver, BC)

Post Author Picture

Playoff Champions

Posted by Ali Baggott at Mar 31, 2012 6:09PM PDT ( 0 Comments )

Congratulations to everyone for a great season! The following are the 2011-12 playoff champions:

First Division: Mariners
Second Division: Sailors
Third Division: Kestrels

Kestrels (2-1) over Ravens
Sailors (3-0) over Blue Jays
Mariners (4-1) over Patriots

Congratulations to everyone!

Photos to come!